7 QT (the last week of vacation edition)

Our last week of vacation! *sigh* It was everything it should be-thrilling moments putting Christmas decorations away, a quick day trip, and lots of time spent washing clothes and enjoying American television.

This week Paul figured out that we actually could use our fireplace despite the four year old home inspection warnings. All seems to be fine (we haven’t burned the house down yet) and we’ve been building a fire every evening. Nothing beats the smell of a fire and even just the sight of freshly stacked wood makes my heart beat a little faster.

On Tuesday we took a day trip up to Port Townsend with my family. Such a great town-even on a cold, gray day. The fog burned off by early afternoon and we could see the mountains. Deep exhale. Beautiful. My mom and got some shopping done (thanks, Mom!) and Stella made friends with the seals carved into the drift wood.Β port townsend

 

With the rain dying down for a few days we made use of the island’s amazing parks. Paul took the kids to Fort Ward to ride bikes and we visited the ducks at Battle Point yesterday. This is what we miss the most.

parks

Paul gave me a gift card to Amazon for my birthday. The smart thing would have been to hold onto it and use it throughout the year, but when it comes to books I simply don’t have that type of self control! I ordered five books to bring back to Mumbai. Most excited to start with Amy Poehler’s Yes PleaseΒ and The Rosie Project.

Today’s the day I start packing our suitcases for that short journey back to India. I don’t feel like we’ve bought too much, and since we’ve been at our house we can always leave things behind for summer, but that’s always easier said than done. We’re also trying to decide what we want to bring to put in our shipment to Doha in May and bring those things along. I think we have five bags…we’ll see if we need to buy another one!

I bought a new planner for the new year. New planners are right up there with hot coffee and Anthropologie when it comes to things I love. I’m trying to get into a good routine for using it-planning out the week ahead, the night before, and the morning but I don’t feel like I’ve found my rhythm with it yet. Anybody else go back to paper planners this year?

I caught this talk by Jennifer Fulwiler yesterday afternoon. It’s short and sweet, but I loved everything about it. No doubt I’ll need to listen to it three more times to internalize any of it, but for it’s definitely worth your time.

I’m linking up with This Ain’t The Lyceum to share my 7 QT from the week!

 

One thought on “7 QT (the last week of vacation edition)

  1. Oooh, cool pics! Sounds like a wonderful holiday. πŸ™‚ I use a blog planner and I have a regular calendar on the wall in our kitchen, where I write everything that we do all week / month. Every once in a while I think of trying to figure out a better planner, or a “routine” to my days, but it hasn’t happened yet. Intentional By Grace has some great planners and lists… πŸ™‚ Nice to meet you through 7QT!

Leave a Reply

