Let Us Begin Again

“Character is built little by little, over days, weeks, months and years, with thousands of small and seemingly insignificant acts of discipline.”

Matthew Kelly

I woke up to the new year with hot coffee (with some brown sugar and peppermint mocha), a bowl of Lucky Charms (seriously) and a banana. In the past this never would have happened. More likely my breakfast would have consisted of black coffee (just half a cup), organically grown wheat puffs, and freshly picked fruit. The first breakfast of the new year has always been my earliest opportunity to demonstrate my iron-clad commitment to a healthy and happy new year. New Years for me is no joke. There must be some industrial strength love that comes for new beginnings when your birthday falls on New Years’ Day. For as long as I can remember this has been my day. Not just in the birthday sense, but personally as well. I’ve always spent weeks preparing-new journal, new clothes, and incredibly difficult promises to keep. As a child I remember keeping so many of my Christmas gifts in a small pile in my room completely untouched until the new year began. I’ve always wanted everything to be perfect and a new year offered that chance. As I’ve gotten older I’ve realized how difficult this tradition is. My resolutions rarely last past mid-January and I find myself continuously setting new goals and objectives throughout the year. In the past this has made me feel like a bit of failure-as if the strength of my resolve was my greatest flaw.

This year, things feel a bit different. I’ve been encouraged by the words of St. Francis “Let us begin again” for I am hoping and I believe he speaks not of a single day of the year but the opportunity we are given at every turn to actively reaffirm our purpose and process. Each new year, month, week, day and moment before us offers an opportunity to give and receive and become, in the words of Matthew Kelly, “the best version of ourselves”.

I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I have journals and mind maps, planners, resolutions and even a Pinterest board devoted to 2015. These things bring me focus. But this year, more than ever, I realize that this commitment to renewal is a daily and momentary practice. One that I believe will lead me closer to my goals 2015. And that is so much more reassuring than fretting over getting it right one day of the year.

So today, on the first day of 2015 and each moment forward, let us begin again.

Happy New Year!

IMG_7547

One thought on “Let Us Begin Again

Leave a Reply

