Be Open To Your Story

I lay on the cool spongy floor soaking in the silence around me. The air is cool and the smell of rubber hangs heavily in the air. Someone next to me lets out a small snore. I’m always nervous during shivasana, which most likely defeats the purpose of it. I worry that I’m not doing it correctly. That I’ll doze off and not wake up at the appropriate time. And sometimes, I am afraid I am not relaxed enough. And that only stresses me out more. You can see where my issues lie.

But despite the fact that I am terrible at yoga I keep going back. Trying to escape my monkey brain and turn off the incessant chatter inside my head. Today, I managed to sink deeply into relaxation for a few seconds before my brain snapped back into action.

This time though, instead of the thoughts of tomorrow’s lesson plans, the kids’ after school schedules, and dinner that was waiting to be made, a single phrase began echoing through my head.

Be open to your story.

Be open to your story.

Be open to your story.

I felt the words being etched into my brain. I found myself grasping at them, knowing their value and so afraid I would lose them before I could process them.

Be open to your story.

Be open to your story.

Be open to your story.

For the last six years our story has been composed of passports and luggage. Travel and new experiences. Hellos and goodbyes.

But now we’ve decided to turn the page and write the next chapter.

We know the main characters will remain the same. But the setting will be different and so will the plot of every day life.

Our new story feels a bit familiar, yet exciting. Warm and comforting. A long deep exhale.

But I can already see I’m going to miss the chapter we are just finishing. The excitement of magical places, the hilarious stories about cultural mishaps, and the frequent correction of “Yes, India. No, not IndiANA. India”.

Surprisingly, at this point in our lives, staying overseas would be the easier thing to do. We get it. We know how it works. Our kids know how it works.

But, of course, we couldn’t just do the easy thing.

We had to be open to our story.

And right now, that story is beginning to unfold on Bainbridge Island. The small town living, clean air, open grassy fields, and camping are calling us.

Noah was 4 and Sophie 2 when we left. None of them have ever gone to school in the States. Being the new kid in a large-ish international school seems doable to them, but being the new kid in a class full of others who most likely know each other?

Downright frightening.

But it is September. We have several more months of international adventures ahead of us and a few more 20+ hour flights to survive. We have months to plan our Christmas trip home, when we can haul back some of most favorite things. The kids have months to begin to process the transition in front of us. We’ll even have a much longer summer than we’re used to, and when the kids are enrolled in their camps they’ll know the friendships they make could actually turn into something beyond a few days.

We’ve been clear with the kids that this move isn’t forever. Or it could be. Only time will tell. All we know is right now we need to reconnect in the States for the next few years.

Beyond that, well-we just need to be open to our story.

sophieholi

3 thoughts on “Be Open To Your Story

  1. Sharing it with your friends and family. Sharing with a wider audience. Sharing dreams of stairs and chickens and possibilities for each of you the island. Sharing is a big part of openness in story writing. You’re already doing it well. Beijos minha amiga.

  2. A father’s pride hardly captures the generous feeling for a daughter who is getting it right. Does she know that about herself? That the father unabashedly learns from the daughter? The daughter who never fails to prompt the heart with the simplest of words? Just one more time, let me put my arms around her and say thank you. Thank you for living life in a beautiful way and for being that great teacher.

Leave a Reply

