Down to the Bones

I was hesitant to push publish yesterday.

Sharing your writing is much like appearing in public naked. Or so I’ve heard. Lately I can’t help but write from the very barest of places. No fancy fonts, beautiful pictures, and exclamation marks to cover up the truth of the story. 

And sharing yesterday-telling the whole world or anyone who’d read-that yes, we are in fact, going to be leaving our jobs at the end of the year with our three children in tow reaches pretty far into the depths of our story right now. 

Many of you asked where we are going. The truth?

We have no idea.

One day we have dreams that take us to a new school and city around the world. The next I’m mentally building my backyard chicken coop and looking up CSAs on Bainbridge Island. 

I feel certain we will know which decision is right for us as a family when it presents itself. Whether that’s stupidity or temporary zen is yet to be seen.

Back in 2007 during one of our first PD days back at school, we were given the charge, complete with chart paper and smelly markers, to share a quote that spoke to us.  I stood in front of my colleagues and shared my quote for the year:

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Less than a year later we found ourselves living in Brazil and teaching at an international school. As far away from the suburban cul-de-sac minivan life as we could be. Back then, I laughed at the absurdity of my previous motherhood years spent on Saturday Target runs and commuting to a job nearly an hour away. At the time, it all seemed so trivial compared to seeing the world.

We’ve spent 7 years abroad living the expat life. That’s a drop in the bucket to some and a lifetime for others. I’m not quite sure which it is for us yet. Two of our children were born in the States and our third abroad. This life has taught them about adaptation and versatility – skills that will serve them well in the coming months.

The years in front of us could go in so many directions. I’m trying to make myself relax into the priorities we’ve set for our family and envision us fulfilling those priorities rather than becoming focused a specific place for our next adventure. 

We are the guards of our family and to be sure, we will make the best decision possible. For them.HighResKasky-10

One thought on “Down to the Bones

  1. Abby, I read yesterday’s post and felt so happy for you! Wherever you go, please keep writing- you’ll have to change Mangoes and Monsoons to something else! I have enjoyed following The Kaskys in India all these years, thank you for all the joy. I wish you a last year in India full of happiness, love, and family togetherness. Big hug!

Leave a Reply

