Beautiful Shells

IMG_4078

I’ve been (re)reading A Gift from the Sea this week. It’s a simple book about finding balance as a woman, wife and mother in our lives. There are so many great passages-my copy is dog-eared and underlined to death-but one part of it stuck with me a bit more than others.

She writes, “One cannot collect all the beautiful shells on the beach. One can collect only a few, and they are more beautiful if they are few.”

For me, that part reminded me that we must pick and choose those things that we pack into our lives. More does not equal better. For me, the shells in my pocket have been growing and I am finding that with Β each additional shell, I am appreciating their beauty less and less and feeling more and more weighed down. It’s too overwhelming to have to sort through it all and keep it all together.

Right now, my shells include: religion, being a wife, a mother, a teacher, a friend, a writer, and a runner. Just writing all those out seems like too many, but I those are all non-negotiables for me,Β and several overlap, so for now I am keeping that list. If it doesn’t fall into that category then it is going on the back burner at this point. I want preserve the shells I keep and appreciate the beauty in each of them.

To that end, I’ve decided to get rid of my running blog. I just can’t keep it all up, and for me, right now, running is just a part of my life, and doesn’t need its own category. I’d rather focus my writing effort in one place and not give too much emphasis on one area over another.

I want to appreciate the beauty of all the shells.

And for now, that means all the action happens right here.

shells

 

 

 

One thought on “Beautiful Shells

  1. That is one of my favorite books. There is so much wisdom in the book and helpful in so many different ways.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

