Fresh Starts (Part 2)

As we get ready to start a new year, I have been working on creating positive intentions for the year for our family. In honor of my thirteenth year of teaching, I hoping to lay out thirteen intentions for the 2013-2014 school year. Part 1 is here – and here’s what else I am hoping to accomplish as a family:

  • Rituals

One of my favorite blogs, The Simple Mom, has a great post about the importance of family rituals. As a family that is far away from our extended family, I think family rituals have an even greater importance for our children. These rituals (I hope) give Noah, Sophie and Stella security and predictability in a way that living in a foreign country sometimes does not. Some of our favorites rituals include weekend pancakes, family movie night, pizza on the roof top, bedtime stories, and game nights. I am hoping to be more consistent with these and make them a non-negotiable part of our week

  • Blog

Maintaining the blog is really important to me this year. Committing to writing on a regular basis is really important and I love looking back at the entries of years past. Ideally I’d publish our blog into a book at the end of the year so we have the memories in hard copy form too.

  • Find the Freebies

Being teachers at ASB we have access to many amenities that are hard to come by in Mumbai. Namely, a heated pool, playground, gym and soccer court. Taking advantage of these freebies, rather than shopping or hanging around the house is good for all of us (and our wallets!).

  • Eat Like a Local

This one is difficult, but I feel that I have a responsibility to at least expose my kids to the Indian culture via their tastebuds. I’d like to ask Mavis to prepare one Indian dish a week so the kids (and I) start building up a bank of favorites. We’ll start simple- roti and curry- and go from there.

  • Balance

Search for the ever elusive balance between home and family. I love my family and I love my job. I just want to try and keep work at work (or at least away until the kids go to bed) and home at home. The second one is actually more difficult-nothing like having your three kids right around the corner from you all day at school. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

  • Find the Way

It’s not difficult to imagine that Mumbai is a hard place to embrace the outdoors. You are fighting for space amongst millions of people, dogs, cats, and unfortunately, rats. That makes it hard to do all that keeps me mentally and physically healthy. Between August and May I pretty much become a gym rat-trying to get in miles however I can. Over the last year running has become integral to my mental and physical health, but I always like to run with a goal in mind. Running without a race is flat out depressing to me. I need to consistently find races that I can train for and keep to my plan. No excuses-just commitment. racesSo far, I have a Mud Run (5k and 21 obstacles) set for August 31 and the Mumbai Half Marathon (13.1 miles) on the calendar for January 19, 2014. I am tentatively planning to head to Chennai to run the Winpro 10k in December. We’ll see. Right now, I am focused on the 31st.

So there it is. Our (my) intentions for our family this year. Cheers to fresh starts!

One thought on “Fresh Starts (Part 2)

  1. You are an inspiration! I will look forward to your updates because then you don’t feel so far away. The time will pass and I will wait for your return. Lol mom

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

