When God Whispers

Image

Sometimes you need to step out of your bubble…

 

My daughter wet the bed last night.  It was bound to happen since I forgot to put a diaper on her before she fell asleep.  She woke up soaked, a tangle of covers and damp pajamas wrapped around her, crying for me.  

I felt terrible. I mean, I could change her pajamas, wipe her down, and remake a suitably dry bed until the sun came up, but there was something else about this experience that was nagging at me.

Two days ago my daughter wet the bed during a nap.  Our helpers, we have two women that work in our home during the day to help care for Stella and keep up the house, had forgotten to put a diaper on her before she fell asleep.  I was annoyed.  In my head (and out loud to my husband) I hissed:

“How could you NOT put a diaper on her when she’s going to sleep?”

“She’s only two. Of course she needs a diaper while she naps.”

“This is their whole job and they can’t even remember a small request.”

I was convinced that they were nearly useless after making this mistake. Never mind that they stripped the bed, cleaned the mattress, remade the bed and I didn’t have to lift a finger.  I was still seething inside.

Last night when I realized my own diapering mistake I immediately felt a punch in the gut. In my sleepy head I knew that this moment wasn’t about my daughter’s accident. It was God whispering in my ear (or knocking me upside the head) reminding me to keep myself in check.

In a country where it is common place to have helpers in your home, it can become easy to feel superior. To feel as if you are actually more important than the people you employ. Last night was just another one of the several experiences lately that have given me the nudging I need to turn back towards The Bible.  To understand the sin in my pride and boasting. To remind me that we are all from Him.

“For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether [they be] thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him and for him:

And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.”

Colossians 1:16-17

 

 

Leave a Reply

